Posted on

The Fascinating World of Body Worlds

Finally this weekend I got to visit the Sci Bono centre and check out Gunther von Hagen’s Body Worlds Expo, what an absolutely fascinating experience it was. Most of my family and close friends had gone to Body Worlds and had said how brilliant it was but as with everything in life I took it with a pinch of salt as I didn’t want to unnecessarily psych myself up for something and end up leaving disappointed. This expo however, is worth psyching yourself up for, it is brilliant.

Annoymous (2013) BODY WORLDS is The Original Exhibition of Real Human Bodies, it is the first exhibition of its kind to inform the visitor about anatomy, physiology and health by viewing real human bodies. The specimens on display were preserved through Plastination, the preservation process invented by Dr. Gunther von Hagen in 1977, while he was working as an anatomist at the University of Heidelberg. 

I found the exhibition to be an incredibly moving depiction of the life cycle of the human being, from the point of inception until that final moment when death has its way with us. 

I would have to say that my favourite exhibit from the show was the various depiction’s of the foetus during the various stages of pregnancy as the foetus’s are shown in their real physical form, this has to be one of the most incredible yet strange things I have ever seen. The exhibition also provides the visitor with a unique story or set of medical, health or physiological facts about the Plastinate been shown which enhances the learning experience further. The expo also depicts various illnesses such as various forms of cancer, strokes, heart attacks, the effects of alcoholism and the effects that smoking can have on a person.

This show really is not one to miss and it is not on for much longer so make a plan an get there!

“Life is like a play. First you play the lead, then the supporting role, then you prompt others, and finally you get to see how the curtain falls.” Winston Spencer Churchill (1874-1965) British Politician 

#thehonesttruth our bodies are the most valuable pieces of equipment we possess and they should be treated as such, you only get one body there is no upgrades or trade-in’s respect and love what you have. 

Reference list:

Anonymous. (2013). FAQ. Body Worlds. Available from: http://bodyworlds.co.za/FAQ/. (Accessed 24 June 2013).

 

 

About allanhill007

Hi, I am a 24 year old guy living in South Africa currently busy doing my Honours in Strategic Communication at the University of Johannesburg. I'm a caring, loving guy. I adore my friends and family. I am honest an I enjoy making others feel like they are actually important in this world an if I can make em smile even better. Oh an I enjoy partying like a rock star :)

Leave a Reply

