Posted on

A true hero!

This past weekend saw one of South Africa’s hero’s been hospitalised again for a recurring lung infection. You must know who I am talking about, I don’t even need to say the man’s name, however, I will say his name for purpose’s of clarity and because his name deserve’s to be mentioned and his name is Nelson Mandela or Madiba, Tata Madiba and the father of the nation as he is more fondly known.

Too most South African’s and even the world over Nelson Mandela is an absolute hero an icon of freedom, liberation and of course been the man who ended one of the most vile atrocities to ever occur, Apartheid. It is with greatness sadness then that we as a nation have to witness our beloved hero and icon having to battle a silly lung infection. I wish you well Madiba and hope you get better soon, thank you for been one of my hero’s!

I leave you with my favourite Nelson Mandela quote, a quote that I feel has so much power and meaning, “I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons will live together in harmony with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for, and to see realised. But my Lord, if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.
Nelson Mandela, defence statement during the Rivonia Trial, 1964. Also repeated during the closing of his speech delivered in Cape Town on the day he was released from prison 27 years later, on 11 February 1990. This quote was taken from http://africanhistory.about.com/od/mandelanelson/p/qts_mandela1.htm

Leave a comment